This new system of training also greatly expanded the curriculum of the School. Instead of simply having survey courses on the Scriptures, deeper studies could be included in the second year. Also, courses on homiletics and public speaking could be expanded to give the cadet a greater degree of proficiency upon entering the field. The two year system was widely accepted, and is still in effect today.
The spiritual climate of the School for Officers' Training (the name changed again on February 14, 1957, and has remained this to the present) has always been greatly prized among cadets and officers as well. In a general survey sent out to many officers, the spiritual life of the training experience was perhaps the one item on which frequent comment was made.
Through the surveys, many people Salvation Army fame are listed as having been a guest lecturer at the School. The most frequently mentioned visitor to the campus was Commissioner Samuel Logan Brengle who helped many cadets come into the experience of entire sanctification. Other listed were: the National Commander Evangeline Booth, General and Mrs. Bramwell Booth, Commissioner Yammamuro, Eric Ball, General Higgins, General Coutts, General Kitching, General Wiseman, and many others.
Perhaps the most unusual spiritual event happened on February 1, 1971, when a spontaneous outbreaking of the Holy Spirit swept through the cadet body during a very typical Monday morning assembly. The revival really changed the cadet body, and made it a much more exciting place to be. Many lives were changed both within the walls of the School and outside. Never before had a spontaneous outbreaking of the Spirit occurred, nor has it since. (See Appendix Three for a more comprehensive report of this revival.)
The next major event on campus occurred in December of 1972, as ground was again broken for an additional dormitory. Commissioner J Clyde Cox, then Territorial Commander, turned over the first shovel of earth, and then conducted the rest of the ceremony. The building was completed sometime in the fall of 1973, and received its full dedication. The new dormitory was named "Mumford" after the Founder's wife, Catherine Mumford Booth.
The new Mumford building (the 1955 "Annex" was first called "Mumford," then was changed to "Railton" in 1973) would housed a combination kitchen and dining room (previous to this, the dining room for cadets was in the "gymnasium" of the old mansion), child care facilities, and a lounge for the cadets to relax in. All of these facilities were located on the ground floor. On the second floor, enough space was provided for the housing of up to 50 single women, with additional space for a lounge and laundry room. The addition of this building increased the capacity of the School to 125 cadets and their families.